Mengu-Timur-khan

1266-1282
Grandson of Batu Khan, son of Tukan Khan

Mengu-Timur was Tukan's son, Batu's son. There is no reliable information about Mengu-Timur's childhood. When Berke came to the power, he appointed Mengu-Timur as his heir. After the death of Berke, Mengu-Timur Khan, became the ruler of the Ulus of Jochi.

Mengu-Timur, having ascended to the throne, took the title of Khan (before him, the rulers of the Ulus of Jochi did not bear this title), began to issue yarlyks and independently mint coins in his own name, which was a sign of the ruler of an independent state. Before him, coins with the Khan's name were not printed in the Golden Horde. Since the beginning of his reign, a new title of the ruler of the Golden Horde had been stamping on juchid coins – "Khan the highest" and Tamga of the house (clan) of Batu (the name of Tamga bosaga), which confirmed his independence.

Immediately after the accession Mengu-Timur appointed two governors. His cousin Uran-Timur (Tuka-Timur's son). Mengu-Timur appointed the ruler of the Crimea, and another cousin Bahadur (Shiban's son), he appointed the ruler of the Ulus of Shiban in the Aral sea region. Mengu-Timur himself immediately after enthronement marched against the rebels. Under Mengu-Timur, power was consolidated throughout the territory of the Ulus of Jochi. Because of this, the economy of the Golden Horde received a great boost for development. International trade grew strongly, new cities began to appear and old ones were restored, Genoese trading posts appeared in the Crimea.

In 1267, Mengu-Timur was the first of the Golden Horde khans to issue a yarlyk to the Russian clergy, freeing the Russian metropolitan from a number of taxes and duties. Mengu-Timur also issued a yarlyk to Genoese merchants who founded the Kaffa trading post in 1266. In 1267, Mengu-Timur sent an Embassy to Egypt to the Mamluk Sultan Beybars. Since 1268, diplomatic relations between the Ulus of Jochi and Egypt were strengthened.

Since 1267, Mengu-Timur had made a number of efforts to settle territorial disputes with neighbors, in particular, with the Chagataids. Mengu-Timur began to put pressure on Barak Khan, the ruler of the Chagatai ulus. To do this, he sent to help his cousin Kutuk (Orda Ejen) and ally Kaidu reinforcements in the form of 50 thousand soldiers led by Berkechar, the oldest son of Jochi at that time. As a result, Berkechar concluded a peace agreement with the ruler of the Chagatai ulus in the Talas river valley. In 1269, as a result of the Talas Kurultai, it was decided to attack the Ilkhan from two sides. On the one hand, the troops of Mengu-Timur were conducting an attack, on the other – the troops of Barak chagataid. Barak was defeated, and Mengu-Timur won.

In the 1269 agreement on the Talas Kurultai, the rulers of the three ulus (Uluses of Jochi. Chagatai, Haidu) vowed that their nomadic subjects would not destroy the city and the sedentary settlements, as it was previously.

After the Talas Kurultai of 1269, the Ulus of Jochi was officially recognized as an independent state by the former "fraternal" uluses. With independence in 1269, the Ulus of Jochi began an economic recovery.

In the 1270s Mengu-Timur even recognized the legitimacy of the demands of the Mamluk sultans of Egypt on the Ilkhans ' possessions.

After the external campaigns, Mengu-Timur began to strengthen an internal state system.

In 1271, 1277, 1278, the Golden Horde troops went on campaigns to Bulgaria.

In 1275, Mengu-Timur conducted a census of the population of the Ulus of Jochi (in order to clarify the quantitative indicators of taxes from vassal and subordinate territories), including in the Russian principalities.

In the winter of 1277, Mengu-Timur called on Russian troops to conquer the Alans and Circassians who lived in the Caucasus mountains. The reign of Mengu-Timur can be called the time of the emergence of the Ulus of Jochi (Golden Horde) as an independent state. In the works of most authors, Mengu-Timur died in 681 Ah (11.04.1282-31.03.1283), which is confirmed by numismatic material, according to which the last year of minting his coins was 681 Ah. Mengu-Timur died of an abscess in his throat.

Менгу-Тимур-хан

1266-1282
Внук Бату хана, сын Тукан хана

Менгу-Тимур был сыном Тукана, сына Бату. Достоверных сведений о детстве его нет. Когда Берке пришел к власти, он назначил Менгу-Тимура своим наследником. После смерти Берке, Менгу-Тимур-хан, стал правителем Улуса Джучи.

Менгу-Тимур, взойдя на престол, принял титул хан (до него правители Джучи не носили такого титула), начал выдавать ярлыки и самостоятельно чеканить монету от своего имени, что являлось признаком правителя независимого государства. До него монеты с именем хана не печатались в Золотой орде. С начала его правления на джучидских монетах выбивается новый титул правителя Золотой Орды – «хан высочайший» и тамга дома (рода) Бату (название тамги босага), что подтверждало его независимость.

Сразу после воцарения Менгу-Тимур назначил двух губернаторов. Своего двоюродного дядю Уран-Тимура (сын Тука-Тимура). Менгу-Тимур назначил правителем Крыма, а другого двоюродного дядю Бахадура (сын Шибана) он назначил правителем улуса Шибана в Приаралье. Сам Менгу-Тимур сразу после воцарения выступил в поход на мятежников. При нем упрочилась власть по всей территории Улуса Джучи, из-за этого экономика Золотой Орды получила большой импульс для развития: выросла международная торговля, стали появляться новые города и восстанавливаться старые, появились генуэзские торговые фактории в Крыму.

В 1267 году Менгу-Тимур первым из золотоордынских ханов выдал ярлык русскому духовенству, освободив русского митрополита от целого ряда налогов и повинностей. Также он выдал ярлык генуэзским купцам, которые основали факторию Каффу в 1266 году. В 1267-м Менгу-Тимур послал посольство в Египет к мамлюкскому султану Бейбарсу. С 1268 года дипломатические отношения между Улусом Джучи и Египтом укреплялись.

С 1267 года Менгу-Тимур предпринял ряд усилий для урегулирования территориальных споров с соседями, в частности, с Чагатаидами. Он начал давить на Барак-хана, правителя улуса Чагатая. Для этого он послал в помощь своему двоюродному дяде Кутуку (сын Орда эджена) и союзнику Кайду подкрепление в виде 50 тысяч воинов во главе со Беркечаром, старейшим на тот момент сыном Джучи. В итоге Беркечар заключил мирное соглашение с правителем улуса Чагатая в долине реки Талас. В 1269 году в результате Таласского курултая было принято решение наступать на ильхана с двух сторон. С одной стороны наступали войска Менгу-Тимура, с другой – войска чагатаида Барака. Барак потерпел поражение, а Менгу-Тимур одержал победу.

В соглашении 1269 года на Таласском курултае правители трех улусов (улусы Джучи. Чагатая, Хайду) поклялись в том, что их кочевые подданные не будут разорять города и оседлые поселения, как это было ранее. Тогда же улус Джучи официально признан самостоятельным государством со стороны бывших «братских» улусов. С обретением независимости в 1269 году в Улусе Джучи начался экономический подъем.

Менгу-Тимур после внешних походов стал укреплять внутреннюю государственность. В 1275 году он провел перепись населения улуса Джучи (в целях уточнения количественных показателей налогов с вассальных и подвластных территорий), в том числе и в русских княжествах. Зимой 1277 года Менгу-Тимур призвав русские войска, выступил на покорение алан и черкесов, живших в Кавказских горах.

Правление Менгу-Тимура можно назвать временем появления улуса Джучи (Золотой Орды) как независимого государства. В сочинениях большинства авторов Менгу-Тимур скончался в 681 году хиджры (11.04.1282-31.03.1283), что подтверждается нумизматическим материалом, согласно которому последним годом чеканки его монет был 681 год хиджры. Скончался правитель от нарыва в горле.